2017 Otago Senior and Junior Champs - 3rd Feb 2017

2017 Otago Senior and Junior Champs

The 2017 Otago Senior and Junior Championships are being held this Saturday at Kaka Point Beach.

For the first time in a number of years the events have been combined together for an exciting event which will see our youngest members rubbing shoulders with our more senior athletes.

In the Senior age groups, 36 athletes are entered with a good spread across all the age groups; including particularly strong numbers in the Under 16 ages. For several athletes this will be their first senior Otago Championships included in that group are experienced members Brent Wolf, Joel Tyndall and Greg McLeod. This year also sees the return to racing for one of St Clair's most successful national title holders Stephanie Laughton, back in New Zealand after two years overseas.

Senior athletes expected to feature in their age groups are Ryan Shanks (Open Men), Nathan Wolf (Under 19 Men), Lucy Matehaere and Devon Familton (Under 19 Women), Max Wolf and Jackson Aluesi (Under 16 Men) and Anaia Wiparata and Annie Kennedy-Atchison (Under 16 Women). Several of these mentioned athletes performed to high standard last weekend at Eastern Region Champs in Mount Maunganui, with Lucy and Devon who did not race last weekend national medal holders from last season.
They are of course supported by club mates across the age groups, who will be racing hard to win both Individual and Team titles.

In the Junior age groups, an impressive 42 athletes are entered to race under the St Clair cap. Strongest representation is in the older age groups of Under 14 and Under 12, however the club is still able to field teams in all events able to be contested with the exception of the Under8 Age groups.

As has been the case with events already contested this year, the Under 14 girls age group is expected to be hotly contested with New Zealand title holders Erika Fairweather, Olivia Andrew and Charlotte Underwood-Nicol all entered in multiple events; with the club also able to field a further 5 athletes in that age group. The Under 14 Boys age group will be contested by 6 St Clair athletes with Aidan Macrae and Piere Tapsell showing good form already this season. Under 12 Girls contains good numbers with this group led by mulitple New Zealand title holder Jade Fairweather and their male counterparts featuring speedy young board paddlers Bailey Pearce and Sam Stedman. Our junior age groups are rounded out by keen young athletes in the Under 10 and Under 8 age groups.

The Full list of those racing is:


  • Jackson Aluesi
  • Grace Blackie
  • Bailey Brandham
  • Lachlan Brandham
  • Cameron Burrow
  • Struan Campbell
  • James Coombes
  • Joel Davies
  • Carina Donegan
  • Lucy Duncan
  • Devon Familton
  • Ben Hayward
  • Annie Kennedy Atchison
  • Stephanie Laughton
  • Greg Macleod
  • Nathan Martin
  • Hannah Matehaere
  • Lucy Matehaere
  • Richard Murray
  • Devon Olsen
  • Sebastian Prescott
  • Ryan Shanks
  • Michael Trembath
  • Anaia Wiparata
  • Brent Wolf
  • Max Wolf
  • Nathan Wolf
  • Ossian Woods


  • Chandrae Alberts
  • Emma Andrew
  • Olivia Andrew
  • Emma Christophers
  • Ella Colquhoun
  • Grace Creighton
  • Ella Rose Crooks
  • Samuel Dorne-Cumming
  • Erika Fairweather
  • Jade Fairweather
  • Lily Falcous
  • Rosie Falcous
  • Amelia Francis
  • Charlie Haig
  • Emma Herbert
  • Freda Kawharu-Tapsell
  • Campbell Macdade
  • Lucas Macleod
  • Aidan Macrae
  • Shannya Macrae
  • Francesca Macready
  • Marshall Macready
  • Mereana Martin
  • Sophie Matehaere
  • Hazel Mcdermott
  • Safia Mcleod
  • Liam Neal
  • Isla Nicholson
  • Bailey Pearce
  • Olivia Pearce
  • Isaac Robertson
  • Ben Sinclair
  • Oliver Sinclair
  • Samuel Stedman
  • Harrison Stout
  • Mia Stout
  • Piere Tapsell
  • Marley Thompson
  • Kale Twist
  • Lara Tyndall
  • Sam Tyndall
  • Charlotte Underwood-Nicol

« Back to News
site powered by - Turboweb :: Simple Web Manager