2017 Otago Senior and Junior Champs Results - 16th Feb 2017

2017 Otago Senior and Junior Champs Results

Saturday, 4 February at Kaka Point for the first time featured both the Senior and Junior Otago Champs on the same day. St Clair performed extremely well in both age groups comfortabling winning the Junior event and leading all age groups overall in the Senior event with three swim specific events (Board and Tube Rescue and Run Swim Run) still to be held in early March.

Otago Senior Results

Otago Junior Results

Some of the highlights from across the age groups were:

Senior Men

Nathan Wolf performed well all day and on several occassions raced in both the Under 19 and Open events to gain more race experience. His only individual races in the water where he was defeated were the Open Ski Race won by Ryan Shanks and the Under 19 Board Race won by Hamish Trembath. The other Under 19 placings were shared between Hamish, Lachie and Bailey Brandham and Alex Thomson.  

Max Wolf performed well in the Under 16 age group winning all the water events except the Ski Race which was won by promising kayak paddler Jackson Aluesi. Ben Hayward featured among the results in all the beach events.

Senior Women

Returning former New Zealand Champion Steph Laughton picked up several titles on the day. Lucy Matehaere was also in good form winning the Open and Under 19 Ski titles. Annie Kennedy-Atchison and Anaia Wiparata did well in the Under 16 events with Annie also winning the Under 19 Ironwomen in a great race with Lucy, junior member and new lifeguard Olivia Andrew boasted a number of teams and also won the Under 16 Diamond race.

Under 14 Boys

Aidan Macrae and Piere Tapsell shared the winnings in some close racing in the Under 14 age group. Campbell Macdade combined with Adian and Piere to take out the Board Relay.

Under 14 girls

The Under 14 girls event saw a similar sharing of winnings as the Under 14 boys with Charlotte Underwood-Nicol taking out three titles (both beach events and the Board Race) and Erika Fairweather the other three (surf race, run swim run and diamond). The team events were dominated by the various St Clair combinations.

Under 12 Girls

Jade Fairweather performed well in the Under 12 girls winning all but one of the individual events, with the exception being the Beach Flags which were won by Rosie Falcous. Rosie, Shannya Macrae, Emma Christophers and Sophie Matehaere picked up placings in the various races.

Under 12 Boys

The Under 12 boys featured a number of close races with Bailey Pearce and Sam Stedman sharing wins in the water events. Isaac Robertson was strong in the beach events winning both the sprints and the flags.

Under 10’s Boys and Girls

Harrison Stout was the best performed St Clair member overall in the Under 10 boys winning the Diamond and placing in several other events. Safia McLeod and Francesca Macready were stand outs in the Under 10 girls with Safia winning four events.

Under 8 Boys and Girls

Ella Colquhoun won all the U8 girls events: flags, sprints, run-wade-run, board race and diamond.

James Coombes, Club Chair - with contributions from our junior surf age group managers.

« Back to News
site powered by - Turboweb :: Simple Web Manager