Lifeguard Award Training - 1st Jun 2015

Lifeguard Award Training

St Clair will be commencing another programme of lifeguard award training.

This programme will provide the training required to gain your Surf Lifeguard Award, taught by our experienced instructors.

To gain your Surf Lifeguard award for this coming Summer, you need to be at least 14 years old by March 2016

If you are interested in taking the Become a Surf Lifeguard course, please contact us at for more details

Anyone wanting to take the course will also need to fill out a membership form available online.

You can view more information on the Surf Lifeguard award online.

Lounge Hire - 1st Jun 2015

Club members looking to hold a function should look no further than your own surf club!

Our upstairs lounge is available for hire by club members catering for up to 100 people.

The lounge is perfect for Birthdays, Engagements, Training Courses and Work functions.

To make booking email us with all the details.

The upstairs lounge features:

  • HiFi Sound System
  • Projector Screen
  • Licenced bar (club licence)
  • Outdoor deck facing the ocean

Ossian Woods Attends Leadership Camp - 6th May 2015

Club ,member and Under 19 Male representative Ossian Woods recently attended the SLSNZ Northern Region Youth Development Camp. Ossian has written a review of his experience.

"Recently I attended the SLSNZ Northern Region Youth Development Camp, on this camp the aim was to get a better understanding of how to be a leader in our surf clubs from this I met some great people and made a heap of new friends.

I arrived at the marina in Auckland and was given a group of 6 other people from all around the northern region told to hand ours phones in and that we wouldn’t see them until we got off the ferry on Sunday afternoon. We arrived at Motutapu Island after a 1 ½ hour ferry trip then loaded our packs into a truck and set off on a 5 KM walk to the other side of the Island where our camp was located.

The first day contained a lot of team building activities that we were doing to get to know our group better as well as find our strengths and weakness’.

The second day we began to do group activities that was designed to challenge us such as high ropes and a confidence course as well as and raft building challenge along with waka ama paddling and also kayaking.

The afternoon of the third day contained an orienteering challenge that took us all over the island in about an 8 KM hike.

The night of the 3rd day we were woken up at midnight, 2am, 4 am all to do physical activity and then woken up at 4:30 am to complete a Navy seals training session that took around 2 ½ hours we then got our instructors back for all the push ups that they made us do by throwing them into an eel infested duck pond (fair to say I started that) after all the fun we cleaned out the dorm rooms and loaded our bags back on the truck and set off on the journey back to the ferry.

We went from complete strangers to the best of friends in just 4 short days and I will never forget my time on the camp."

Club Service Awards - 20th Apr 2015

This years Senior Club Prize Giving saw for the first time the award of Club Service Awards.

The recipients for 2015 are:

Club Service Award

  • Adam Harvey
  • Carla Laughton
  • Joel Davies
  • Scott Fraser
  • Rhys McAlevey
  • Matthew Bradley
  • Brent Matehaere
  • Stephanie Laughton
  • Michael Crombie
The criteria for these awards, which are presented annually at Club Prize Giving are:

Club Service Award: Eight years of active lifeguard patrolling.

Club Distiniguished Service: Fiften years of active lifeguard patrolling and twenty-five years of club volunteer service (jn addition to normal lifeguarding duties).

Senior Prize Giving - 20th Apr 2015

The Senior Club Prize Giving for the 2014/2015 season was held on Saturday, 18 April at the club rooms.

Amongst the major award winners for the evening were:

  • Cameron Burrow for the Most Industrious and Enthusiastic Club Member
  • Thomas Garforth for the Top Patroller
  • Nathan Wolf for the Best All-round Surfer
  • Erika Fairweather for Outstanding Achievement
View the full list of trophy winners for 2014/2015.

New Zealand Ocean Athletes - 25th Feb 2015

National Ocean Athletes

On Wednesday 25th February 14 juniors and 9 parents headed off to compete at Oceans 15 at Mt Maunganui. The squad trained hard over the Christmas break with Michael Trembath taking sessions 6 days a week. There were lots of groans and quite a few trips down to the “salty “ for squad members who didn’t listen!

  • Under 14: Karamuu Taratoa-Bannister, Seb Prescott, Nathan Martin, Anaia Wiparata.
  • Under 13: Struan Campbell, Ben Hayward, Max Wolf, Grace Blackie, Hannah Matehaere, Annie Kennedy-Aitcheson.
  • Under 12, Olivia Andrew, Charlotte Underwood-Nicol.
  • Under 11, Erika Fairweather, Emma Andrew.

The last week has been a quiet time having dispatched the boards and tent to the Mount via Mainfreight. (Thanks Rob Stout for organising this.) Also thanks to Steve Mowat Building and Construction Ltd. for taking the cages to Mainfreight. Finally there was some great efforts put in for fundraising, and it would be great to support the businesses who sponsored our “Weekender” article.

Southern Region Champs - 20th Feb 2015

Southern Region Champs The Annual southern regional champs are being held this coming weekend at New Brighton beach. The club is sending a 19 strong team who will be looking to hold onto the title. With this being a major lead up to nationals all athletes will be looking to put out a strong showing. Keep an eye on the clubs facebook page for results.

The team contesting the event is:

  • Bailey Brandham
  • Lachlan Brandham
  • James Coombes
  • Maddison Crawford
  • Joel Davies
  • Carina Donegan
  • Eilis Doyle
  • Olivia Gold
  • Kaori Kitahara
  • Lucy Matehaere
  • Liam McKillop
  • Benjamin MacMahon
  • Jody Mowat
  • Ryan Shanks
  • Alex Thomson
  • Hamish Trembath (subject to fitness testing)
  • Michael Trembath
  • Nathan Wolf
  • Ossian Woods

Pete Smallfield Tackles the Coast to Coast - 18th Feb 2015

St Clair club member Pete Smallfield recently took part in the one day version of the Coast to Coast.

Pete has put together a blog about his journey which includes a harrowing story of blindness caused by an unknown substance.

Read the Blog post here.

site powered by - Turboweb :: Simple Web Manager